top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarisa Dominguez

Interview with Emily Kranking



Hi everyone! I am back with another interview. I am so excited for y'all to meet Emily. She is so incredible and inspiring. Today also happens to be her 27th birthday, so after you read this be sure to go wish her a happy birthday! I interviewed Emily back in October, however some of her projects she wasn't able to talk about just yet. I figured what better way to celebrate her birthday, by posting her interview! Emily is a huge advocate for disability representation, especially when it comes to theatre. Emily happens to have cerebral palsey... but that doesn't stop her from living her actress dreams! She is also will be in an upcoming movie-musical! Isn't that so cool?


What is your name? How old are you? Where are you from?


Emily Kranking, 27, Washington, DC (Frederick, MD)


How long have you been doing theatre?


Ever since middle school. When I was a kid, my parents always asked us if we wanted to do activities after seeing their friends’ kids doing them. Sports, band, altar-serving in church etc. But, they never asked us if we wanted to do theatre, even after seeing our neighbors, who are my age, doing it. Yeah, I always waited for my parents. I never wanted to ask them myselfs. So when my parochial school re-started their drama program in sixth grade and my mom asked us if we wanted to do it, I immediately said yes.


What shows have you done?


Right now, I am in my first huge lead/supporting character in EPIC Players’ production of She Kills Monsters. My character is Kaliope, a magical elf who also has cerebral palsy (!!!!!). That will be in December. I also just finished my first play in years The Phantom Tollbooth, which is my favorite book ever. Before that in 2016, I played Deirdre, another disabled character, in my friend’s production of Good Kids. I had just finally gotten my first musical in years, Godspell which was in my bucket list and I had FINALLY gotten my first solo ever (“Light of the World,” which was going to be a duet with, small world, my Phantom Tollbooth co-star) and then COVID ended it after a week of rehearsal. So, thanks COVID.


You were recently in a film called “Best Summer Ever”! Can you tell me more about that?


Yes, yes, yes! Best Summer Ever is literally the first-ever movie musical that stars actors with (and without) disabilities. It is a present-day parody of Grease, Footloose, High School Musical, etc. I’m one of the leads (the bubbly cheerleader stereotype named Nancy), which is so damn weird. Me. A lead in the first-ever (soon-to-be) mainstream movie musical.


We were supposed to premiere at SXSW (the second BIGGEST film festival in the country) in March. But of course, the pandemic hit the week before, so everything fell apart. We thankfully just premiered at Martha’s Vineyard in early October and then we showed at Heartland a week later. So things are finally happening and we should be out next year (FOR REAL)!! It totally helps that we already are an award-winning movie (Best Screenplay [Final Cut Pro Screenwriters Award] at SXSW and Richard D. Propes Social Impact Award at Heartland).


What was it like filming “Best Summer Ever!”?


It was my first time ever filming something for the screen. So, it was a totally new experience for me. It was actually a natural thing for me to adapt. Of course, it was a musical, so we learned about choreography and the song three hours before while they’re shooting other people. Actually, what is funny is that you might not shoot until the late afternoon/early evening, but you’re still there at 6 am, getting hair, costume, and makeup done. The earliest that we were out was 4:30-5 pm (on the last day of filming the last reshoot) and 2 am (The first day ever when we shot the last scenes and the closing number.) And also, we shot three times in three years. 2017 was most of the movie and 2018 was a rewrite of a crucial scene for me. 2019 was a last-second song addition, plus we recorded all of the songs for the soundtrack.


Do you have any other dream roles to play?


You made a mistake asking me that. Here are my Top 10:

  • Any princess role (especially Cinderella [the Broadway version] and the triple As: Anya/Anastasia, Ariel, and Anna)

  • Lily in Carnival!

  • Miss Honey in Matilda

  • Glinda or Nessarose in Wicked

  • Penny in Hairspray

  • Dawn in Waitress

  • Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors

  • Olive in 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

  • Sally in You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown

  • Little Red in Into the Woods

What are some of your favorite things to do besides theatre?


Writing, Photoshop, Reading, Video Games, and Exploring the Town


What have you been doing to stay busy and have fun during the pandemic? Any suggestions for others?


Lucky for me, I kept my job during the pandemic and then I was offered an additional job in July. So, I have been very occupied with work. Other than that, of course, the usual: Tiger King, Hamilton, Animal Crossing, and extreme snacking. We got a puppy (a Brittany named Chloe) two weeks before quarantine, so she has been our emotional support system.


But what is miraculous for me as a disabled actress is that training has moved online. So, all of the classes that I haven’t had access to before are now online: Comedy, Musical Theatre Scene Study, Playwriting, Golden Age Singing, etc. So, I am a much different actress now than pre-COVID. There are also very similar classes to kids that are fun like dancing, singing, filmmaking, and themed to Hamilton, Frozen, etc. So if kids want to act, but want to have fun, these classes are the way to go.


What advice would you give to other people who are interested in theatre but maybe don’t know where to start or are maybe too nervous?


Just do it! You might not get the lead, but being in the ensemble is just as important as the lead. This is just a baby step in acting. I started off as an ensemble member, but now I’m a lead in a play AND a movie. Because I kept trying.


Your school is the way to go. If not a play, try a summer camp or a local theatre class. If it turns out you don’t like acting, you may like running the lighting board or being a stage manager or running the candy stand. There is so much more than acting.


Who is a woman who you look up to in the theatre community and why?


Ali Stroker, 100%! With her perseverance, hard-work, advocacy, and a historic Tony winner, she has unlocked all doors for actors with disabilities. After her Tony winner, two little boys (Jai Ram Srinivasan and Sebastian Ortiz) with my disability (cerebral palsy) made their Broadway debuts and made history as the first Broadway actors with CP. Then, my friend Russell Harvard got another lead on a Broadway show (To Kill a Mockingbird) in TWO roles. Disability is quickly being more common on Broadway and Ali showed that we are here and ready!



Thank you so much, Emily, for an incredible interview. I know Emily inspires me and I hope she inspires all of you as well. You can follow Emily on Instagram here. Be sure to tell her Broadway Babes sent you!


Until next time,


Marisa


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page