top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarisa Dominguez

Interview with the lovely @msestherdraws!

Updated: Dec 6, 2020



Hello, Broadway Babes community! I am back with another interview. I have missed interviewing people. I was so excited when the guest said yes! We are traveling to Singapore with this week's interview. Esther is just so amazing! I can not wait for y'all to get to know her!



What is your name? How old are you? (If you don’t want to say your age that is fine!) Where are you from? Where are you currently residing?


I’m Esther, 24, Singapore :) I lived and work here.


Tell me a little bit about yourself and what you do!


I’m involved in education and the arts. I run a business teaching English and English Literature which combines my love for theatre, drama, poetry, and education.


How did you get involved with theatre/performing in general? What is your background with the performing arts?


I got into singing I think before I started speaking (just kidding). Okay maybe not. But I was brought up with my dad and my church peeps constantly singing so it has always been a part of me. In high school, I joined choir and then sort of didn’t really do arts until like 23 or something again, and then when I got into Broadway Weekends At Home, I went all the way.


How did you get involved with Broadway Weekends?


Literally thank God for the power of the internet, I think I had googled so much of theatre by then it came up. And ALSO Jonathan Roxmouth had a live with Josh Piterman (world tour and West End Phantom(s) of the Opera) and Jonathan talked about teaching a class on BWAH and I went for his class and got hooked.


What is your favorite part about Broadway Weekends?


How can I answer this when I love everything about it? I never had access to arts education (like performing arts) when I was younger (i.e. before 24) because I think it’s quite expensive and offered in a very limited way too, so Broadway Weekends for me has broken the barriers of geography and reached out to us in Asia which is quite incredible and unbelievable. I love classes, the energy and happiness of the community, I’ve made such WONDERFUL friends for life which I can connect with on a whole new level. Also, I love how the Broadway teachers are very down-to-earth, and they bother to connect with us, and never have they ever looked down on us or like judged us for our backgrounds/abilities, etc. Broadway Weekends is also a community that thrives ON COMMUNITY. They constantly take feedback monthly and all the time really and make things that work for us which is why I don’t see myself leaving BWAH for a long long long long time.


Can you tell me more about the BW Scholarship Fund and what it is like being on the committee? Can you tell me about the stickers that you design and sell?


The Scholarship Fund was designed to help those who may not have been able to afford classes due to whatever financial circumstances they might be in. Coming from a country that isn't the US, the exchange rate issue is also a thing for us and so I am very proud to have pushed for and be one of the committee members. We source for vendors and funding for BWAH and I also have personally started selling stickers (though it has paused for a while haha) to raise money for the classes. Renee K who heads the committee is a wonderful individual who always is open to ideas and thoughts and constantly involves us in the work.


What have you been doing to stay busy and have fun during the pandemic?


I have been working and working quite madly during the pandemic perhaps even more than I have worked. It is my first year officially of self-employment and of running my business and I think that I really put everything I could into it to stay afloat and thrive hopefully. I enjoy what I do in teaching and I really work very hard to prepare classes and make sure my students do well for exams (Cambridge O and A Levels).


What are some of your favorite things to do besides theatre?


I am very active in the planner and bullet journal community, run an art Instagram (@msestherdraws), run a finance blog (up and coming), curate and sell washi tape samples, do church stuff, etc.


Who is a woman who you look up to in the theatre community and why?


I would say, Sierra Boggess, she’s full of light and joy and somehow warms the heart of many that she comes into contact with. I am to be this beacon of light as well!



Thank you, Esther, for a wonderful interview! Isn't she awesome? She is one of the sweetest people ever! She is not only a teacher but also has multiple small businesses! Be sure to go check her out! Check her out, @msestherdraws on Instagram. Be sure to tell Esther that Broadway Babes sent you. Thank you again, Esther! I hope everyone is staying happy and healthy!


Until Next Time,


Marisa




47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page