top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarisa Dominguez

Interview with Maddie Jantzi of Nailing Broadway




I hope everyone is doing well. I know it has been awhile since I have posted a new interview. With everything going on in the world, plus now having online classes for the rest of the semester! I figured I would start to post more interviews again. I hope that my blog can be a source of joy and make you smile during the craziness that the world is experiencing. Today’s interview is with one of the sweetest people I have ever had the pleasure of messaging and interviewing. She is so kind and talented. I can’t wait for you to learn more about Maddie and Nailing Broadway!

What is your name? How old are you? Where are you from? Where do you go to college? What do you study?

My name is Maddie, I’m 22 and I am from Toronto, Canada. I am currently at Ryerson University in a program called Creative Industries. It combines the arts and the business side of the arts and allows me to specialize in acting, dance and the music industry.

Tell us a little bit more about Nailing Broadway!

Nailing Broadway brings together my love of Broadway and nail art. I post pictures of my hand painted Broadway-themed nails and paintings to celebrate the amazing shows we all love! I currently sell printed versions of my artwork on Etsy but there is more in the works.

What inspired you to start learning more about nail art and then incorporating Broadway?

When I was about 9 years old I went to a craft fair and found a booth that was selling nail art pens. I absolutely loved testing them out and trying to paint pictures on my nails, so I decided to buy some! Eventually, I started using nail art tools and small paint brushes instead and got better at it. I went through phases with nail art over the years and after not really doing it for a while I decided to paint Broadway shows on my nails for BroadwayCon 2019. I didn’t have any Broadway apparel but I wanted to somehow wear Broadway, so I thought nails would be the perfect accessory.

What made you start your account? What was the process like?

After painting BroadwayCon nails I took a break again while I finished the rest of the school year but then I realized how much fun I had painting them. I started painting more of my favorite shows on my nails that summer and my mom suggested that I start an Instagram account for it. I didn’t really have a plan for it or even think people would be this interested in seeing my nails, but it started to grow and I decided this was something I wanted to do more seriously. Now it’s a big part of my daily routine and I am having so much fun with it!

What is the design process like for your nail looks?

I start by researching different shows, listening to the music and coming up with an album of photos for inspiration. Once I have enough inspiration for a few shows I’ll start to paint the pictures that I take the nail photos with. When the paintings are all done, I find a time when I can sit and paint my nails for usually about 6 hours. Sometimes I replicate the painting on my nails, and other times I’ll paint different props, characters, scenery or quotes from the show.

How do you manage school, Nailing Broadway and everyday life?

This has definitely been the trickiest part of starting Nailing Broadway, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. One thing that I love about being in my program is that a lot of what I’m learning relates to what I am doing with Nailing Broadway. I’ve learned a lot of social media and business strategies which have been very helpful. I try my best to arrange my school schedule so that I don’t have to be on campus every day of the week. Almost every day when I get home from school I paint. I find that it’s a nice way to wind down after class and get the pictures done so that on my days off I can paint those shows on my nails, do homework and get outside or see a show. The nails are more difficult though. They take anywhere from 3-8 hours to do, depending on the amount of detail. I definitely have to dedicate a whole day to nail art in order to keep up. I also never paint the same show on both of my hands, they’re always different. That’s one way I am able to get as many done as possible.

What has been your favorite memory (or two if you can’t just pick one!) since starting your account?

My favorite memory is definitely going to BroadwayCon this year. I had so much fun meeting other artists and Broadway creators that I’ve seen and talked to online but never met in person before. I’ve never felt this much a part of the Broadway community, and it is truly the best community to be a part of. The incredible people I’ve met through theatre have changed my life.

What advice would you have for someone who is just starting to get into nail art?

Have fun with it! Experiment with different tools and techniques and practice a lot. One tip that I recently have been using a lot is to use acrylic paint for the designs instead of nail polish. It’s a lot easier to work with and takes less time to dry. Once you put topcoat on, you can’t even tell you didn’t use nail polish. It definitely takes time to get used to working on such a small surface and using both hands, but I believe that anyone can do it if they practice. There is no right or wrong with art, so just have fun and show off your own style or passions on your nails.

What do you see for the future of Nailing Broadway?

There are fun things coming! I am currently working on some new products for the shop that I am very excited for. I will post an announcement on Instagram and my website when I have more news!

Who is a woman that you look up too in the theatre community and why?

I feel very fortunate to have so many incredible female role models in the theatre community. It’s impossible just to name one, but what I will say is that Christy Altomare once told me to “do it because you love to do it” (in terms of putting fear aside and doing what I love), and that has changed the way I think about so many things. As someone who often lets fear and anxiety get in the way of trying new things and showing people what I’m passionate about, those simple words helped me get back into dance classes, try singing, take a musical theatre class at school after not performing for a long time, and start Nailing Broadway. It is so true that when you put fear aside and just focus on doing what you’re doing because you love doing it, you can accomplish so much more and be so much happier.

Thank you so much Maddie for a wonderful interview! It was such a joy to interview you! I can’t wait to continue to follow your journey and watch Nailing Broadway flourish! You can find Maddie on Instagram, @maddiejantzi . You can find Nailing Broadway on Instagram @nailingbroadway. Also go check out Maddie’s Etsy page here where you can find out more about purchasing her incredible and beautiful artwork prints! If you go check her out, tell her Broadway Babes sent you!

Until next time,

Marisa

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page